Stafford Cricket and Hockey Club was founded in 1864, which almost certainly makes it the oldest sports club in Stafford. The club appears to have originally played at The Lammascotes before being offered a field at The Hough (Lichfield Road/GEC site) in 1899 which belonged to the Grammar school (The new ground there was opened by the mayor, a Mr Mynors in May of that year). In 1984 the club negotiated a move to Riverway as The Hough came under the ownership of GEC. They currently own 11 acres at Riverway and host numerous sports all year round – they have 2 cricket pitches in the summer and in the winter host football, mini football, rugby and hockey.
In 1999 they were awarded a £200K lottery grant towards a new pavilion completed in 2000. The pavilion has 6 changing rooms and a lounge/function room for members and guests. The clubroom may also be hired for all kinds of functions and celebrations, as well as business meetings and charity events.
The club has a rich history, documented via minute books that go back to 1888 and many pictures that you can see in the history archive of Riverway Events webpage.